The Majestic Brigade!!

The day started lazy and early today. I had to reach the office before 10 am or else get stuck in the huge endless flow of humans walking the “Brigade”. Though I woke up early the chill of the morning forbade me to get ready and leave fast. So, I had to travel in the rush hour, and the sights form the Metro at every station was a bit threatening. At every station there stood groups of strange looking people, well not really strange, but getting a glimpse of them was enough to understand their purpose of travel. They were heavily clad in woolens and mufflers, carried stuffed bags, and looked extremely excited; and to speak the truth, I found them uncivilized and horrifying! Every time the Metro halted, these people somehow clustered and like magnets stuck to the outer walls of the Metro, and before people could get down they pushed and rushed their way in! In the hustle-bustle many office goers started screaming at them, but they simply ignored these abuses and fought their way into the metro all the while grinning and jumping! Once I was out in the road I started walking fast to avoid the flow of millions of people walking, against this human tide! Thankfully I reached safely. But during the break my Boss asked me to visit the crowd with the others on the road. Initially the idea sounded silly, who goes to see a crowd? But then as I witnessed it, I found it quite interesting.
The road was closed post 10am. And I had already seen huge buses overloaded with people who even sat on the roof, shouting and laughing loudly on their way to the “Brigade”.
I saw groups of people walking, running, sprinting; some very happily, some dutifully and some playing and cooing cheaply at women. One hassled commuter was walking helplessly pushing aside the spacious crowd with a trolley bag. I had pity on the man, the tint of scare in his face indicated that he was about to miss his train to some important destination.
Amongst the supportive Brigade walkers were young and old, men and women, even more surprising was the fact that there were a handful of children as well. A woman carrying a toddler on her back was walking with a fairly quick pace. Huge flags were being waved by the holders; there were numerous banners with various messages which I could not read due to the crowd. Each group had a separation from the other of about a few yards. With the passing by of every group the messages and cheering changed. My ears caught a funny one “Brigade Cholo, Cholo something, Dak Diyeche Mamata”. Later on pondering on the line I discovered it was “Brigade Cholo Janata, Dak Diyeche Mamata.”
There were some people who enjoyed the walk, they playfully hit each other, ran about in circles and joked and laughed. Some of these walkers talked of the political conditions and the chances of the political parties in the Lok Sabha Election.
A hilarious sight was that of the loyal Mukul Roy supporter who wore a mask of Mukul Roy and had cut outs for the eyes and the nose. His large nose stuck out from the mask even though the nose of the mask laid pasted on his own nose. Some said that the strength of the crowd would be as strong as 12 lakhs!!
On my way back I met two friends of mine, Tiyash and Tushar who had gone out to celebrate Tiyash’s birthday, which as she exclaimed was partly ruined by walking the brigade!

2 comments on “The Majestic Brigade!!

Leave a Reply

